Visiting Professor of Law

Prof. (Dr.) R. N. Sharma

VISITING Professor of Law

Dr. Debasis Poddar

Prof. (Dr.) R. N. Sharma


E-mail ID: ramniwas@nluassam .ac .in

Ph. No.: +91-361-2738891 (Office) Ext:


Born on December 24, 1951, graduated in Science from the than Jodhpur University in 1972, LL.B. in 1975 and Master of Laws in 1978. He was enrolled as an Advocate and practiced in Rajasthan High Court, Jodhpur up to 1978. He was appointed as Assistant Professor in the Faculty of Law, Jodhpur University in 1978. He became Associate Professor in 1991 and Professor of Law in the year 2001. He retired in the month of December 2011. After retirement he joined as Dean, School of Law, Mewar University, Gangrar, Chittoregarh, Rajasthan. He occupied the post of Vice Chancellor at IASE Deemed University, Sardarshahr for more than two years. He has also served as Co- Director at B. M. Law College, Jodhpur. He has more than 35 years of teaching experience. He has authored more than nine books. He has participated and presented research papers in more than 70 National Seminars. He has presented and participated in eleven International Conferences/Seminars. He has more than 45 published research papers in various national and international journals. More than 22 scholars have been awarded Ph. D. in Law under his guidance and supervision. He has evaluated more than 100 Ph. D. theses from more than twenty Universities. He has organised more than nine National Seminars. He has visited more than 34 countries. He has delivered more than sixty extension / invited lectures. He has vast administrative work experience as President Board of Sports, J.N. Vyas University, Jodhpur, Director, UGC Academic Staff College, Dean & Head, Faculty of Law, J.N. Vyas University, Jodhpur, Rajasthan, Director, Five Year Law Course at J.N. Vyas University, Jodhpur, Rajasthan, Chief Cooridnator, Legal Cell, J.N. Vyas University, Jodhpur, Rajasthan, as Member, Syndicate (BOM), Member, Academic Council, Member of Senate. He has also been a teacher leader and has been President and Secretary of the Teachers Union for more than twelve years. He has Membership of various professional publications like Chief Editor, Indian Journal of Legal Studies, published by Faculty of Law, J.N. Vyas University, Jodhpur, Rajasthan, Member, Editorial Board, International Journal of Clinical Legal Education published by University of North Umbria at Newcastle, United Kingdom, Member, Editorial Board, International Journal of Chhota Nagpur Law College, Ranchi, Jharkhand. Chief Editor, Pragyaan: Journal of Law, published by IMS Unison University, Dehradun, Chief Editor of edited book titled “Environmental Sustainability and Development: Recent Trends and Issues”, published by School of Law, IMS Unison University, Dehradun. He has been honoured by Vidya Sagar Award in 2014 by International Institute of Oriental Heritage for outstanding contribution to the cause of Higher Education. Presently, he has also worked as Professor and Dean, School of Law, IMS Unison University, Dehradun since January 2019.