Internal Complaints Committee (ICC)

Sexual harassment of women is an age old problem which was never addressed by any specific law in India. Sexual harassment results in violation of the fundamental rights of women to equality under Articles 14 and 15 of the Constitution of India and her right to life and to live with dignity under Article 21 of the Constitution of India and the right to practice any profession or to carry on any occupation, trade or business which includes right to a safe environment free from sexual harassment. As the protection against sexual harassment and the right to work with dignity are universally recognized human rights by international conventions and instruments such as Convention on the Elimination of all forms of Discrimination against Women, the Government of India ratified the same on the 25th June, 1993 and in the year 2013 a new Act addressing sexual harassment of women in their workplace was enacted by the Parliament post Vishaka v. State of Rajasthan judgment known as “The Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal) Act, 2013”.This Act specifically addresses the offence of sexual harassment at the workplace and creates a mechanism for redressal of complaints. The National Law University, Assam has implemented the said Act in letter and spirit by constituting the Internal Complaints Committee (ICC) in the year 2016. Following are the present members:

  1. Hon'ble Mrs. Justice Rumi Kumari Phukan (Retd.), Former Judge, Gauhati High Court, Guwahati
    Presiding Officer

  2. Ms. Namrata Gogoi, Assistant Professor of History

  3. Dr. Himangshu Ranjan Nath, Assistant Prof. of Law, NLUJA, Assam

  4. Dr. Kankana Baishya, Assistant Librarian, NLUJA, Assam

  5. Mr. Bijan Kumar Sarma, Superintendent, NLUJA, Assam

  6. Ms. Nikita Barooah, Advocate, Gauhati High Court, Guwahati
    Legal Consultant